Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Underage Drinking Citation in PA

Status
Not open for further replies.

chels819

Hello, I am 20 years old and I recently received a citation for underage drinking. I was a passenger in a car with a sober driver, who was pulled over in a 'traffic stop.' My main question is that I was wondering if it is still possible for me to plead not guilty on the citation if it says on the citation
"admits to drinking at _____ bar," which I did do, but I wasn't sure if by saying this it makes me automatically guilty. I was breathalyzed but they never got a reading, but it does say on it that there was "smell of alcohol on breath." I would definitely like to have the trial since I am pursuing a degree in teaching and can't have this on my record. Thanks so much!

I too am in the exact same boat as you but possibly worse. I am a PSU student and 20 years old. I got an underage this weekend for holding a beer in my hand, they then breathalyzed me and i blew a .1 . I am pursing a degree in elementary education. This is my first offense. Am I done for in this field? Can I get this expunged and then no school districts/certifications could see it? Any suggestions as to what to do?

Last edited:
Did you receive a citation? If so, I would send it in not guilty (that is what I did) - then if a "trial" is held then there is a chance of getting it knocked down to something such as a disorderly conduct. But, I did find a link through IUP saying that they cannot use underage drinking as a criteria in getting a job in the school system. It won't let me post the link but just go on google, type in "IUP underage drinking and education" and it should come up.

-Hope this helps...let me know if you find anything else!