Unconstitutional state taxes on Imports/Exports?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ntech

Being a truck driver I am running into the multitude of state taxes that the trucking industry has to deal with on a day to day basis. And all these taxes got me thinking and then researching some thoughts I had. And I seem to have run across a can of worms that are just begging to be opened.

So let me show you what I found here and tell me what you think about this as a case.

Here is the provision of the Constitution thats in question.

Article 1 section 10 paragraph 2.
No State shall, without the Consent of the Congress, lay any Imposts or Duties on Imports or Exports, except what may be absolutely necessary for executing its inspection Laws: and the net Produce of all Duties and Imposts, laid by any State on Imports or Exports, shall be for the Use of the Treasury of the United States; and all such Laws shall be subject to the Revision and Control of the Congress.

While states were given the power to tax imports and exports it comes with a caveat. They are not allowed to keep the money. This section is a Constitutional earmark dedicating this income to the Federal treasury. The idea being that States would not tax these protected items if they couldn't keep it. But allowing them the power to protect domestic products from cheap imports.

With a little more investigation I did find out there the states are using a direct tax/indirect tax argument. That this section of the Constitution only applies to a direct tax on these products. And then they argue that their taxes are indirect taxes and are allowed.

But then I figured out the big lie.