Timeshare Maintenance Fees

Status
Not open for further replies.

pbart

I'm new to this service, so please excuse me if I'm in the wrong subject area.

My question relates to that biggest consumer scam of all times: timeshares. I'm ashamed to admit that my wife and I bought a fixed week unit in North Carolina in the mid 1980's. It's fully paid for. The sales pitch included all of the lies you'd expect.

We're considering defaulting next year on the annual maintenance fees. I fully realize that our unit would be foreclosed and we'd have a credit black eye and be bugged by bill collectors.

My question is: We own our home in Minnesota. It's fully paid for. On our default, can or would the North Carolina resort (owned by Whyndome Properties (sp??) in Arkansas) place a lien on our property in Minnesota?

Timeshare Worries?

hello pbart,

I work for a not for profit orginization called iDonate.com. We facilitate people in your situation on a daily basis. Not only can you get rid of the hassle and worry of this timeshare, but also you could be eligiable for tax benifit. Most importantly the funds that would be generated by this donation could help fund charities all over the world. Let me know if you want more info and we would love to help you.

Thanks,
estanley

Timeshare

Hi Pbart:

We had your same situation several years ago, and after reviewing many many alternatives, and reading other comments and ideas on this Forum, and not wanting to ruin our credit rating, we were told to "Quit Claim Deed" the timeshare back to the owners of the resort. Our unit was paid for also but did not meet our requirements any longer. They are also IMPOSSIBLE to sell and do not fall into the trap of paying up front as we did to sell as we never heard from the timeshare agency again..
The Quit Claim deed has to be recorded in the county of your timeshare, recorded properly and presented to them in person.