Terminology issue

Jurisdiction
New York
Hi everybody!

I am a French student in New York and I have some terminology issues. I am currently drafting my resume and I do not know what would be the equivalent of my French Master II in Business law.

This 5-year degree enables me to work as a lawyer in-house. I was told to use Juris Doctorate but I am afraid it is not completely the same thing or Corporate Jurist Diploma. What do you think would be best?

Thank you for your time and help!

Sincerely,

Sophie

what would be the equivalent of my French Master II in Business law.

Some people use the early 20th century term LLM, or LLM in International Law.

Some people use the JD.

It shouldn't be an issue, because you can prove it and explain it.

However, you can't practice law in the USA unless you pass a bar exam.

The NY state bar exam has stymied some the best wanna be lawyers.

I've never taken it, so I am commenting based solely on what others have told me.

To do that your degree must contain certain required course credits.

You could call your state bar and inquire, or visit a law school and ask the registrar to evaluate your degree.

Be sure to take your transcript.

US law in 49 states is founded on British common law principles.

The laws of Louisiana most closely mirror the legal system in France.

You might consider relocating to Louisiana, because you'll find the practice of US law as troubling as I do the law in Louisiana.

As far as in house counsel in France, versus in the USA, the jobs are nothing alike.

Now that I think of it, you might also wish to discuss all of this with an admissions counselor at any law school.

Most would be happy to meet with you and possess the knowledge to assist you in your endeavors.

Bon chance, mon ami.

I would avoid using JD unless you add a note indicating it is an equivalent.
Try simply listing what you actually earned and include the note that it is JD equivalent.