Suggestions for out of state ticket in NC

Status
Not open for further replies.

gotricked

I recently recieved a ticket for travelling 85mph in a 70 mph zone in Halifax County, NC. I reside in SC and have a SC license. I recieved the ticket while on my way to VA. I would like to prevent the need to return to NC for the court date. I called the Magistrate's office and they said that I can go to court earlier but only if I agree to plead guilty.

Am I eligible for the Prayer for Judgement? I have a clean driving record, no tickets or anything in approx. 8 years. I did not realize that travelling in excess of 80mph was a felony. This may impact my ability to retain my employment if I am convicted of a felony.

I welcome any and all suggestions and appreciate everyone's time with this issue. Thank you in advance.

R

Hey R,

I'm not a lawyer, so take this with a shaker of salt (and lime, if you got it):

I didn't realize it was a felony either. I do know that driving 15 mph over the limit in NC can result in losing your license for at least 30 days (if it's an NC license, that is, not sure if anything happens to your SC license). If you go to court on your court date, the DA will usually plea it down to a lesser offense, and you can pay your fine and go home. If you don't want to be there, you might should hire a lawyer to be there for you.

What you probably shouldn't do is just plead guilty to 15 over the limit, send in your fine by mail (don't know if that's even an option in your case), or fail to appear in court. I don't know if a PFJ is even necessary here, as the DA will usually work with you to lower the offense. If the DA doesn't do so, then a PFJ would probably work. Anything to keep a felony off your record. But no matter what, either you or your attorney will need to be in NC on the court date, I don't think there's a way around that in this instance.

Good luck!