Student Loan and Collections

averagejane

Jurisdiction
Oklahoma
I think I might need a referral to an attorney, but I don't know where to look for one in my state. I had a student loan that went to collections with a certain company (I don't remember if I can name them). I was told after 9 payments, I could go back into loan rehabilitation with the loan company. That was 3 years ago. I have been making steady payments the entire time through direct debit from my checking account. They mail me a notice every month stating they will do so.

I have tried numerous times to contact them. At one point, during the first part of the 3 years, but before the 9 months was up, I had lost my job. I communicated with them regularly. I never stopped payments. Then, I got a job with my state's department of human services, and I am a social worker. This possibly would make me eligible for loan forgiveness (?). The moment I informed them of my new employer, they stopped communicating with me. They shifted me to where my notices came from a different division.

I called numerous times and only reached voice mail. I tried reaching the old division, with no success, even using the extension I was given. I left my contact info and they mailed me a boilerplate letter that stated I needed to contact the original loan company. I did so. That company told me to contact the collections company. This went back and forth ad nauseam.