Small Claims Case? Snow Plowed by Neighbor Destroyed my Boat

Michigan_Dan

Jurisdiction
Michigan
This past winter 3-6' of snow from a neighboring motel parking lot was plowed into/onto my boat which was parked with documented permission on city property in designated winter boat parking. This caused my boats starboard hull to break in half. I have not looked too much, but it would likely cost $1,000 to $3,000 to repair if not replace the boat.

Would I have a good case in a small claims court? What steps should I take?

As a university student I cannot at this time afford to repair or replace the boat without reparations or compensation.

Thank you for your help.

This past winter 3-6' of snow from a neighboring motel parking lot was plowed into/onto my boat which was parked with documented permission on city property in designated winter boat parking. This caused my boats starboard hull to break in half. I have not looked too much, but it would likely cost $1,000 to $3,000 to repair if not replace the boat.

As a university student I cannot at this time afford to repair or replace the boat without reparations or compensation.

Thank you for your help.
Submit a claim to your insurance company.

What evidence do you have?
Pictures?
Witnesses?
Who did the plowing?
A motel employee?
A hired service?
When did this happen?
What have you done so far?

Answer all those questions and you may get some helpful comments.

Have you contacted the person/entity who did the plowing and requested compensation? If not, why not? If so, what response did you receive?

If you file a small claims action, you'll be entitled to the lesser of the undamaged boat's fair market value or the cost of repair. Proving cost of repair would require either getting it done or at least 2 estimates.

What evidence do you have?
Pictures?
Witnesses?
Who did the plowing?
A motel employee?
A hired service?
When did this happen?
What have you done so far?