Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Shoplifting in ca

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnonymousL84

Hi
I'm 26 years old and just got caught stealing from this worldwide store for the amount of $20. I was stopped right after I exit and taken to this room where they took my ID and SS, they ask for my address and phone number. There are no police involved for they say they dont want to call police. They just hand me this asset protection recovery Paper. The paper was just saying that I was involved in shoplifting incident and that the Bennett law will retained civil damage and if I would like to resolve the civil damage just call the 800 number or email them(store email add) prior to receiving any additional communication. After that i was just told that I will get fine in mail in 6 weeks and I was let go. Since this is the first time I've been to this situation I have so much questions and I'm scared to death, I'm only a permanent resident and not a citizen.
My questions are:
Will it affect my residency?
Will I go to jail?
Will I go to court?
Is it gonna reflect on my background or record?
Do I have to do community service?
Do I have to attend school from trying to shoplift?
If I get a fine, how much estimation can u think?
Are they gonna stop after I pay the fine?

Thank you so much for taking time reading and answering this post. Please give me some heads up about my problem.

And I forgot to mention, I did not sign anything and they didn't do finger printing. And I email and called them but they say that my name will not pop out of the system until next week and just call them after a week. Is emailing them and calling them a good idea? Thanks

Will it affect my residency?
No unless criminal charges are filed
Will I go to jail?
No
Will I go to court?
Not unless criminally charged which you appear to have not been
Is it gonna reflect on my background or record?
Criminal background check no, retail theft database check possibly