Shoplifted at PX

Fearless22

Jurisdiction
Missouri
My Boyfriend is currently in AIT finishing up this week to come home. He innocently put $10 earing in his pocket just forgot about them and didn't pay for them. He zoned out and didnt realize he had put it on his pocket , He was taken to the police station, Commander picked him up he got fingerprinted and said his true statement but he wasnt told anything else since is sunday we have to wait until tomorrow. His very scare because 9 years ago he has a record of taking a money from a bank . His suppose to graduate on the 16th and come home :( what's going to happen? Any advice?

I am a Retail theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily. However we cannot predict the future so we cannot say what will or wont happen. i can say it would be unwise to answer any questions without an Attorney. By the way no one puts unpaid for merchandise in their pocket! Unless of course the intent was to take it. However IF he did I would strongly suggest he NOT use that as his defense. See "Accidental Shoplifting"

He has a bit of a mess on his hands. The best thing he can do is obtain legal counsel and speak to ONLY that person about what happened.

Most people don't accidentally put things in their pockets. He will have a hard time playing the innocence card even if he truly had no intent to steal.

His legal counsel can explain his options. This will be a bit different than most cases because it happened on base.