Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Second shoplifting charge

jassox

Jurisdiction
New Jersey
So about 2 years ago I received a 3rd degree shoplifting charge. I was order to PTI and completed successfully and its been over 6 months. I was preparing for an expungement. Being the idiot I am I decided to go into a store and shoplift again , I am a single mother, 26 years old and I am a pre-nursing student. Being that I am a student my hours at work have been reduced to 15 sometimes less. I was denied food stamps because I receive financial aid for school which in turn I spend on books and material. I was celebrating a birthday this past weekend and decided to shoplift some items so I can have a birthday dinner with my child. I know its pathetic. ANYWAY. I'm terrified that I will be convicted of this new charge and my education will be pointless.. I do not want to live in poverty anymore, I want to become something of my self, I want to be able to afford grocery's and anything me or my child need. I lost my mother 2 years ago to cancer she was the only person I could count on for any help, I know this is no good excuse I just feel so shitty sometimes and I felt I was trying really hard to better my self but had a weak moment that will now define my entire future, I know what I did was terrible, But I can not do this with 2 thefts on my record. My question now is what happens after a second offense of theft, Is there any chance of getting an expungement on 2 charges. the new charge is aout $100 it was at a store, I was pulled into the security room and told to sign something I had no idea what it was but I signed anyway I was so scared to even ask anything. The store called the PD and I was took into booking and released in about 2 hours. I know the first steps will be to get a lawyer, I will try this week to do that..... What can criminal defense attorney do that a public defender cant do?