Seated while cashiering.

S

SlufferK

Jurisdiction
California
I am in california and needed some advice. I am a manager for a fast-food company. A few days ago an employee told me that she was feeling dizzy and asked to set at the register instead of stand. Since there is adequate space to do so, I gladly allowed her to complete her shift seated. She came back the next day good as new and happy I allowed her to set for that day. The main reason I did this, besides conpassion, was a ruling/clarification from the California Supreme Court on April of 2016 in the case Kilby v. CVS Pharmacy. The ruling said that employees may ask to set in a chair, for any reason, to do work that could be done seated, and as long as the seat did not pose a hazard due to the workstation layout. That's why I said yes. Well, employees complained that they didn't think it was fair she got to stand and I was given a write up by my district manager because she said all employees must stand. If it's a public accomindation issue dealing with a disability, it needs to go through our HR department first and they can determine if we should allow the enployee to set. But this is definately not what the court ruling says--it says if an employee, able bodied or not, asks to use a chair for a task like this (cashiering) we must say "yes" unless the chair is in the way or the job cannot be done while seated. Just very sad my reputation, and job, is on the line because of my intreptation of the law. Was I in the wrong for assessing the situation and making the decision to let her set based on my knowledge of the courts ruling?

Take a seat, it's your right

I won't get into whether your interpretation is right or wrong because I don't think it matters. What matters is that you follow established company policies. Did you violate any of these?
If you feel you have a reasonable argument to make you likely have an appeal process. Are you familiar with it?