Sale what you said

• Thread Starter I don't have a user
  • Start date
I

I don't have a user

Jurisdiction
Idaho
I am a high school student taking a government class. I was wondering about some laws in Idaho so I can do a project. When you sale something you have to sale the amount you said you would, to a certain degree. What is this law? I was wondering because my teacher said that a group in the past studied this, and found that Idaho doesn't have this law, or that the margin is so large. I have had a hard time finding anything on this subject, so anything you can tell me would be great. Even just the name of the law so I can go off of that.
-Thanks

When you sale something you have to sale the amount you said you would, to a certain degree.

Some scenarios come to mind.

You're shopping. An item is marked 5 cents. You take it to the checkout. The cashier scans it and says "Oh, no, this is 50 cents." With no intent to defraud there is nothing illegal about charging you the 50 cents.

You're selling a car for $3000. Somebody comes to your house and wants to buy. You say "I've changed my mind, I want $3500." There's no law against doing that but your buyer is likely to tell you where to go and he'll walk away.

A car dealer advertises a particular car (stock number 1243) for $10,000 and it's $5000 less than any comparable car he has on the lot. You go to buy it and get told it's been sold and the dealer sells you another car for more money. As you are leaving the lot you see stock number 1243 with a $10,000 price tag on the window. That's called Bait and Switch and is illegal.

There are so many ways a consumer can be cheated by businesses. Idaho has a Consumer Protection Act that addresses that kind of thing.

It's Title 48 Chapter 6:

2016 Idaho Statutes :: Title 48 - MONOPOLIES AND TRADE PRACTICES :: Chapter 6 - CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT