Role Elimination

ladysusanharris

I am A HR Manager for a network of school. Our board recently contracted a company to come in and assist with some financial issues. To make a long story short, this company has recommended that some of our employees be terminated because of issues resulting from an audit by the state. The board agreed but decided to "eliminate" their roles. This outside company is now providing CFO Services, recruiting for a new Executive Director, etc. Human Resources was one of the only areas with no concerns during this audit. I just learned yesterday that they are eliminating my position. They, this outside company has recommended an outside person for this new position, Director of Human Capital. I am the only employee in human resources. How can HR be eliminated? And yes, I am over 40 yrs, a woman and African American. I know that GA is an at will state but is it legal for the board to do this. They gave this outside company the same authority as our Executive Director, who now has no say in who stays and who goes.

Last edited: