Restraint of trade, so I can't give golf lessons!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Billy

I am a would-be golf instructor who needs a place to give lessons. The local golf courses, all run by American Golf Co. (lessee) or by other private concerns, will NOT let me offer my lessons or rent space at their driving ranges. So I am shut out of the local areas such that I would have to build my own driving range just to be able to give lessons. I am hoping that this is an unfair restraint of trade, and that I will have some legal recourse here.

Now, Let me give some details:

The best place for me to give lessons is Lakewood Golf Course (as it is close to me and it is a public/L.A. County-owned course). The range is never completely full, and rarely ever is a pro giving lessons. I would NOT be competing for the same students, as my students would be procured from the internet and advertisements in magazines. In fact, (and a fact I think I can prove with no problem,) if the lessee and County would allow me to rent space on the Lakewood driving range the revenues of the lessee and County would only increase. Anyway, I asked the lessee if I may rent space on the range? They said NO (and offered me some unbusiness-like gibberish as a justification). So I contacted the lessor, L.A. County Dept. of Parks and Rec., and they said NO also, but provided me with the lease documents.