Restraining Order

Status
Not open for further replies.

bar338

I had difficulty deciding what forum to put this in so i hope i am in the correct location.

Me and my ex-girlfriend broke up about 2 months ago, she took it very hard. Since then she has been texting me almost daily, has called me a couple of times, and asked me to meet with her to talk a couple of times (which i agreed to). However, she has become more and more desperate and she is now threatening to get a restraining order on me. Though she has no truthful grounds for a restraining order i have been told she can still get one. I have not initiated any of the contact with her and have done nothing or said anything wrong to or about her.

I was talking to a good friend of mine and they told me that if she does in fact file a restraining order (no matter how un-true it is) it could wreck havoc on my life. I am a college student, I have multiple classes in the same building as my ex-girlfriend including two lectures with her. I am wondering if there is any preventative measures i can take to ensure a false claim is not made. I can not afford to miss weeks of school while the situation is investigated. I am still not sure if she is actually going to do it but i don't want to take any chances, and she is becoming increasing desperate and emotional.

Thanks.

The best bet would be to see if they offer free legal help to students. Most universities have people whose sole job is to give legal advice.

I helped a friend once who had a similar problem with a girl, but she filed a grievance with the college as well as the police. I represented him in front of the College board, and we won, even though he was guilty. As far as the restraining order went, we just allowed it, and he didn't have a problem as he understood to leave her alone.