Question concerning a "Restraining order"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arnold_Friend

state: Florida

First off i would like to say thank you in advance for lending me your time and consideration. Please forgive some of the nature of my questions for i am a layman to the law.

My question revolves around restraining orders. Can you please post some links on the nature of restraining orders, how do you file one, what happens when you get one filed against you, what are the grounds of filing one? What are the limitatons to the order- ie contact, proximaty, telephone, internet?

The second aspect of this question involves the parents of a friend of mine constantly threatening to file a restraining order against me because of a case of mistaken identity several years ago. There is no abuse involved- its simply that they dont like me and they think i get him into trouble when i do the opposite. Ever since then they hate me, there son is also not mentally retarded but is quite possibly mildly autistic. I didnt mention yet he is 33 years old.

The third question i have is if a restraining order is filed against someone that was on probation- could that in any way jeopardise a violation?

The last question is; as i mentioned earlier my friend is a good guy but has poor judgment in chosing his other friends- sso his parents constantly try to usher his life the best they see possible(which i obviously understand and am in support of). If his parents were to file a restraining order against me-and i naturally were forced to abide by it- what do i do if he (which he would because he likes me and we speak daily) attempts to contact ME or run into me in public?