PTIN

scgator14

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I am a CPA and am contracting with a different CPA firm during Tax Season. I have my own PTIN and have had this for a long time. I want to keep this clean so that no problems will exist.

In working here, there are circumstances that have emerged that are very difficult. In the firm, they are predominately Chinese and work a lot with people that are in some state of immigration. From what I understand these people need work to properly acquire their VISA's to America.

The IRS, PTIN Requirements for Tax Return Preparers | Internal Revenue Service, REQUIRES all preparers to have a PTIN. There is no fee. There are two paths, one if you are a citizen the other if you are a "foreign national" and there are different forms used to acquire the PTIN. Irrelevant as to which one or a person's status, it is required to prepare a return. The owner, a CPA, says he WANTS the people to have their own PTIN. He did NOT require them to have their individual PTIN. They are using mine to prepare the work. I am reviewing all returns and have found egregious errors, some that could lead to a criminal charge for fraud. I have on MULTIPLE occasions said I can no longer allow my PTIN to be used but this has fallen on deaf ears. They do nothing. Have also told the administrators of THEIR potential liability, the IRS doing an anal cavity check, having nine separate offices would lead the Service to investigate all offices and the potential of the firm losing its ability to E-File, losing the ERO capability. It does not seem to matter, they are taking a blind eye to this.