Posting Emails to Website - Sender claiming Copyright Infringement, need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kaskade

Hello,

I've been working with a hosting provider for about two years and recently we had an affiliate that was committing affiliate fraud (which is a whole different issue, I'll go into detail if you desire).

The point is that the owner of the company terminated the affiliate's account for violating the Affiliate Terms of Service and refused to pay out any affiliate commissions based upon the violations of the Affiliate Terms of Service.

The affiliate posted some defamatory information on their website about the company I'm working for and as such the owner posted on his personal blog a lengthy post about the affiliate (by his name), the company the affiliate works for (the site that was being used to commit the fraud), and then the emails between the affiliate and the company.

The emails were actually between the individual and our support helpdesk and as such numerous individuals on our end were able to read the conversation and respond as necessary. Due to the individual's actions and threats in those emails the owner of the company felt it was important to make the contents of those emails public to inform others about his actions and lack of ethics to hopefully help prevent him from committing affiliate fraud with other hosting providers.

The said individual has served the owner with a DMCA notification stating that the emails are copyrighted and as such the owner had no choice but to bring down the emails for the mandatory 10 to 14 days and the individual is threatening legal action. They actually went so far as to put on their site that the review on our company has been removed "Pending current litigation with (our company)."