PIP this

Fair

Jurisdiction
New York
Hi I have been working for a company in NY as Software Manager for almost 3 years. The company is based offshore and the team is offshore , they have their own managers and there is a loose relationship with me. I am only acting as a facilitator and the Tech person in the US office.

Because of politics I was put on PIP last week with a lot of non-sense statements. (Most of these can be disproved easily ).

The pip has 45 days and 3 project goals .

Some of the statements in the PIP:

• "Majority of the technical solutions are given by Offshore team" and the Fact is their quality of work is very low and I am the one who delivered/initiated most of the projects.
I have to constantly review and correct them so things don't break. And it's hard to say they always follow my suggestions.

• "I Am not giving clear requirements to dependent teams". Fact is mostly they can't or don't write complete sentences. Also they don't respond to communications in a timely manner.
  • They also blame the delay on a project on me but the fact is we were not given permissions to create an application , which caused the delay.
It looks like the entire purpose of this document is to find an excuse to fire me.

I will list more reasons below to believe that:

Last year they fired the other Software Manager who "under performed" but the fact is he is very strong technically. He was just not Indian.

Both the other Software Managers in NY office in the same group who are from the same ethnicity got promoted and they always received top ratings.

Some of the unrealistic goals in the PIP:

• To have %85 delivery every sprint , considering I am not doing sprint planning , and the team doesn't report to me and so far the team never was able to deliver above %80 , how can this be a measure of my performance ?