Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Petit Larceny Oklahoma--- FIrst offense... HELP!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was at Walmart yesterday and needed some medication, unfortunately, I did not have the money to buy it so I took it. Once I was out of the doors, they stopped me and took me into the security office. Once there they asked me to return the medication and officers came in and gave me a violation for petit larceny from a retailer in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I do not have money, which is why I took the pills in the first place. I cannot afford a lawyer, but I have sought out some free consultations and the lawyers have told me to plead no contest on my court hearing on April 16th and ask to speak to the prosecutor. Once I do, the attorney told me to explain my situation and my need for medication and tell them I am indigent (since I am a college student and do not have money) and then ask them for Deferred Judgment. The attorney told me I have a good shot at getting this plea granted without him present, but I am very scared. Three attorneys have told me that this is a good route to take, but that if it is denied, I will have to hire him. I am hoping that the plea will be accepted since I only have money for court fees. I am estimating them to be about $200.

1. Am I going in the right direction with my estimate for the court fees?
2. Do you think I stand a good chance at getting my plea accepted?
3. I have read about Diversion, what is it and is it offered in Oklahoma?
4. What would be the difference between Diversion and Deferred Judgment, since the attorneys never mentioned Diversion?
5. If granted this, will it be off my record?

Please help me asap... I am petrified and do not know what to do! I am so scared! I know it was a stupid mistake, but I was in need of the medication. Please help me...

1. Am I going in the right direction with my estimate for the court fees?