Person making medical decisions for their spouse. Physician disregard instructions

masey

Jurisdiction
Pennsylvania
I am a Paramedic with over 30 years experience. I recently experienced an unusual situation for the first time.

I responded to an emergency call for a patient in their 70's who experienced sudden cardiac arrest at home. The patient was in cardiac arrest between 6 and 10 minutes until help arrived and started CPR; which means that some irreversible brain damage had started.

We provided aggressive resuscitation efforts for about 20 minutes; the same treatment that the ER would provide.

However, the patient never regained a pulse.

Our state EMS treatment protocols instruct us that, if the patient hasn't responded to treatment by this time, any further efforts are futile. The protocols discourage transporting these patients to the hospital and prefer that we end treatment in-the-field.

In order to end treatment, EMS providers must contact a Medical Command physician at the ER and obtain approval.

In addition, the patient's spouse told us that the patient "would not want all this done. and would not want to be hooked up to machines" for life support.

After discussing the patient's condition and that further efforts would be futile, I offered to transport to the ER, or, the spouse could refuse further treatment for the patient. I said that, as the spouse, they can make medical decisions since the patient was unable to do so.

The spouse repeated that the patient "would not want all this," and then said "You may stop treatment."

The problem is that the Medical Command physician, after hearing about the futility of the patient's condition, and being told that the spouse instructed us to stop resuscitation, ordered us to transport anyway. This was very unusual and the EMS providers on the scene were stunned.