Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft PC 484 shoplifting misdemeanor will repatriate F-1 foreign student ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

puppy365

I'm a foreign student with F-1 visa here in one university of Los Angeles, I was charged by a shoplifting misdemeanor with ~$3800. I've claimed no guilty on the court, and D.A. said they can give me an offer PC 484 in light of my clean history, they said they are willing to reduce from a grand theft to a petty theft.

My I know will this repatriate me or effect my F-1 visa status if I take this offer? All I want is finish my study here and get the diploma.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

I'm a foreign student with F-1 visa here in one university of Los Angeles, I was charged by a shoplifting misdemeanor with ~$3800. I've claimed no guilty on the court, and D.A. said they can give me an offer PC 484 in light of my clean history, they said they are willing to reduce from a grand theft to a petty theft.

My I know will this repatriate me or effect my F-1 visa status if I take this offer? All I want is finish my study here and get the diploma.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Before you take ANY plea deal, you need to consult with a criminal defense attorney in CA.
You should also see an immigration attorney AFTER your PC 484 has been addressed.

Taking goods valued at almost $4,000 isn't automatically a misdemeanor.
You were charged and arrested for a felony.

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=484-502.9

http://www.shouselaw.com/petty-theft.html

http://www.wklaw.com/areas-theft.html

It can be pled to a misdemeanor, but even a plea to a misdemeanor can have very detrimental effects on many aspects of your life.

If you have already retained a criminal defense attorney (or had one a puoic defender appointed to represent you by the court), speak ONLY to that individual.

Bottom line - you are in a bit of a very hot situation.

Speak ONLY to a lawyer, YOUR lawyer.