Naturalization, Citizenship Parents became citizens when I was a minor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

massiel41285

I was under the age of 18 when my parents became US citizens. I am now 25 and married, but I have been a permanent resident since I was 5 years old. I'm coming up for renewal of my residency, but I would rather become a citizen.
I was told that I can apply for a US passport, that I would need to take my parents naturalization papers and my birth certificate, and this should suffice.
Is this correct, or would I have to go through the naturalization process?

I was under the age of 18 when my parents became US citizens. I am now 25 and married, but I have been a permanent resident since I was 5 years old. I'm coming up for renewal of my residency, but I would rather become a citizen.
I was told that I can apply for a US passport, that I would need to take my parents naturalization papers and my birth certificate, and this should suffice.
Is this correct, or would I have to go through the naturalization process?

What citizenship do you hold?

What citizenship(s) did your parents hold PRIOR to becoming US citizens?

Both from Dominican Republic

I don't know why you want US citizenship, especially now; but here is your answer.

You may already be a US CITIZEN because your parents were naturalized!

Note: You may already be a U.S. citizen and not need to apply for naturalization if your biological or adoptive parent(s) became a U.S. citizen before you reached the age of 18. See the "Citizenship through Parents" link to the left.

Citizenship Through Parents

Whether someone born outside the United States to a U.S. citizen parent or parents is a U.S. citizen depends on the law in effect when the person was born.