Offered a PIP or 10 week severance package!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

egrizzly

Jurisdiction
Texas
Hi all,

I work in the cybersecurity field as a Senior Analyst

So a new boss of mine who has quite a different background than 95% of cybersecurity executives comes all of a sudden yesterday and gives me an offer between a 10 week Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) or a 10 week severance package. So I either take the severance package and have my last day as May 20th, or opt for the 10 week PIP, after I'll be given a 2-week severance if my performance does not "improve".

Geezzz. This guy never had any monthly 1 on 1s with me or shared anything definitive on what standards or scope of performance were, and all of a sudden, yesterday evening he says I was not performing up to the standards, which he never announced.

So now there's a protege of his he brought in who is cowboy style often taking on out-of-scope work designated for other groups (System Admins) which basically increased his performance numbers. The guy randomly comes up with what he feels is right from his own opinion and just does it. He has free meetings to other support teams speeding up the flow of his work while I have to get approval and schedule these meetings making my workflow a much slower pace.

I was given less than 24 hours to respond to this offer (something that's also strange and abrupt).