Noprofit cheerleading mixes

A

Ace0807

Jurisdiction
Illinois
Hello i am a coach for a non for profit cheerleading organization. I mix music yearly not to sell but to use for my own teams cheer routines. We go to competions using the same music. My question is do i need to aquire any licences to use the music since i am not selling the music. I normaly mix about 5 songs into 1 song. Please help me out ASAP. I have to start my music for this season and need to know if i need to take any steps that i may have missed before.

You are good. Frequently Asked Questions | Copyright Guide for Music Librarians / Resources

Is permission required to perform a copyright-protected work in public? #PR3 { display:none; } @media print { #PR3 { display:block; } }

Section 106(4) grants the copyright owner the exclusive right to perform "literary, musical, dramatic, and choreographic works, pantomimes, and motion pictures and other audiovisual works" in public. Mere ownership of a printed score or a sound recording does not convey the right to perform that work in public.

However, some exceptions to Section 106(4) do exist. In order to accommodate educational and other non-profit uses of music, Section 110 includes ten lengthy limitations to the performing right as defined in Section 106(4). The exemptions most relevant to music libraries and their patrons are:

• Instructional performances. Section 110(1) provides an exemption to use any work in face-to-face instruction in "a classroom or similar place devoted to instruction." The performance must be by "instructors or pupils" in a nonprofit educational institution. Guest lecturers qualify, but outside performers do not.