NJ traffic ticket 39:4-66.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcw78

Hi, I am a NY driver who receives a NJ traffic ticket. The ticket has a code of 39:4-66.2 ("Avoiding Traffic Control Signal or Sign"). I called the number behind the ticket, which is the court. They told me they would send me a letter of court date and time. Here is my following question.

This is the first traffic violation ticket I receive since I ever drive. I google the code online. It said "Fine or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both". My real question is "will I get jail time of this matter?". or I can work it out by paying. I don't mind to pay double fine. What should I do? Help please.

Thank you,
:confused:

I am not familiar with the New Jersey traffic code but every traffic offense in it probably has similar wording. Traffic offenses in any state typically result in "a fine, imprisonment, or both."

Most of these offenses result in fines. If you can't pay the fine, the court will settle for sending you to jail. Imposition of both a fine and imprisonment is normally reservered for particularly heinous offenses (DUI resulting in the death of another) or defendants (don't question the judge's ancestry).

The state doesn't want to spend money incarcerating you for a minor traffic offense.

violation code 39:4-66.2

Hi
I got a ticket for the violation code 39:4-66.2. The court sent me a letter to ask me to come to the court. Does anyone know the maximun fine for this violation? I just want to pay the fine. I do not know why it makes me go to the court for? Does anyone has this experience? Please advise. Thank you.

Sean.

Hi, I am a NY driver who receives a NJ traffic ticket. The ticket has a code of 39:4-66.2 ("Avoiding Traffic Control Signal or Sign"). I called the number behind the ticket, which is the court. They told me they would send me a letter of court date and time. Here is my following question.