New Jersey Letter from Department of Labor and Workplace Development

Thebashartesla

Hey all

I'm a self employed photographer living in the state of New Jersey. Recently, I was sent a letter from an auditor at the department of labor and workplace development, which reads:

"An examination of the books of (company), Inc disclosed payments were made to you for services performed as a subcontractor in years 2017 and 2018. This examination includes making independent contractor/employee determinations under R.S.43:21 - 19(i)(6)(A)(B)(C) of the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Law.

Please forward copies of the following for the years indicated above:

Federal income tax returns - Form 1040 Schedule C Front and Back
Or
Form 1065 or Form 1120, 1120S

In addition, provide copies of the following if applicable:
Business Cards, Business Invoices, Letterhead
Telephone book/newspaper/internet advertisement
Business Insurance

This information is necessary to correctly determine your relationship with the above named employer. "

They then go on to send me a questionnaire to return with the requested documents entitled Worker Classification Questionnaire:

To me, it seems like they've audited the company i performed services and are looking for worker misclassification, but my accountant thinks they're trying to figure out if I have people working for me (which I don't). Any help on the matter would be appreciated.

Either comply or talk to a lawyer and see if you have the right to remain silent.

You'll probably get similar responses no matter how many websites you post on.

I'm afraid I don't understand why it matters what the reason is. It's not like the answer is going to be different depending on their purpose.