need help choosing a school

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lost

I'm at my wick's end.. I'm trying to choose a law school and it seems all I have to go by are a bunch of questionable rankings.

I'm studying criminal justice as an undergrad at Florida State right now and approaching graduation and I haven't even taken the LSAT yet (I could graduate either fall 04 or spring 05). I've got a 3.78 gpa at the moment though and have taken a symbolic logic class (philosophy minor). I do know that I want to practice in the southeast. I also would like to work in criminal law with a strong background in constitutional law and civil rights. I'd love to work in the appeals process.. better still would be becoming a Circuit Court judge.

I've heard that the high ranked schools aren't worth the money if I'm not planning on working for a large private firm.. any truth to this? I could just go the University of Florida or Florida State but I don't want to regret not going to a better school twenty years from now... I don't want my school choice to forclose on career goals.

Can anyone refer me to a good book or website? Better still does anyone know what schools have a great reputation in criminal law and civil rights? Any of these schools in or near Florida?

Any direction or advice would be tremendously appreciated

Will

edit: also, is it worth taking a test prep class? If so, which one? I've heard testmasters is worth it.....

Originally posted by Lost
I'm at my wick's end.. I'm trying to choose a law school and it seems all I have to go by are a bunch of questionable rankings.