Security Deposit My landlady asks $1400 for one room carpet replacement in ordinary house of Concord CA

Status
Not open for further replies.

dejaneiro

Jurisdiction
California
Hello, Sr. / Madam

I am an international female student from Japan, who went one of colleges in Bay Area CA for 4 years and I just terminated my rental contract to come back to my country on 12/29 but I think my landlady is overcharging me for carpet installation. The house in dispute is located in a quiet area of Concord, CA.

I paid $700 for security deposit on July 1st 2016 with my first rent. It is same amount as my monthly rent.

I lived in there for about half a year (7/1 - 12/29) and I paid all my rents on time and she told me before my moving out that if I ever change my mind and decide to stay in the US she is very welcome to have me in her house.

Everything went well and at least I thought I had a very pleasant relationship with my landlady.. Until now.

During my stay I made some wine stain on the carpet and before moving out I tried to clean them with bleach which resulted in leaving minor white dots on carpet in my room. Upon moving out she mentioned about those white dots and I believe she has right to deduct reasonable sum of money for carpet replacement.