My ex was disbarred

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jewelz

My ex was disbarred in Missouri and suspended in Kansas. He then lied under oath that he was an attorney and he claimed to have "given up" his law career to stay home with our sons while I pursued my career. (Mind you, I have a high school diploma. No higher education, whatsoever...) In our divorce, he was given primary custody of our sons as a result of this deception and numerous others. BUT, (there is a happy ending here) my new attorney did further research & found he was not an attorney at all, and hadn't been one in 3 years. He had been disbarred!!!! I didn't know he had been disbarred until my attorney found documentation on line. My ex had been lying to me! He told me he wanted to quit being a lawyer and become a teacher. He was actually forced to quit!

Along with his disbarrment, I was also able to get written documentation on nearly every other lie he told our judge and the custody was then flip flopped right back to me. Hooray!!!!

He has no qualms with lying under oath. He said in court he intends to reverse his dissbarment and he also plans to get caught up on his CLE requirements. He stated he wants to go back to his law career.

Financially, that would be great as I get $300 a month in child support for 3 kids. BUT, ethically, I fear he will take his lies to the courtroom again and some woman in the same position I was in during our divorce will be at his mercy.

Who knows, maybe he was lying about becoming an attorney again.

What are the chances of reversing a disbarrment?

To lose your license to practice law requires a relatively serious act. Do you know the reasons for your ex's disbarment? I think it is impossible to give any odds that someone may once again be permitted to practice law since we don't have all the facts and I don't know specifics with regard to the procedure in Missouri.