Motion to Enforce Support Payments

Status
Not open for further replies.

willthomasnyc

I have been happily divorced for about 6 years after an 11 year marriage. My initial divorce settlement included $3500/month spousal support and $2500/month child support for a total of $6k/month. This was paid without use of probate every month for 3+ years. (I sent her a check every month without incident)

I am in high tech sales and have been for 18 years (since college)

During the course of the marriage I averaged about $220-$240k/year in earnings with a high of $370 and a low of $55k (year one right out of school). I had been making about $240k per year for the 2-3 years leading up to the divorce.

Soon after the divorce, the after effects of the bubble bursting hit me and I have averaged about $160k/yr since. I have gone back to court twice seeking a reduction on the $6k due to the fact that my income dropped by 33%. The first time I went to court was about 4 years ago. I didn't have the $6k to send each month and had to send only what I could afford which was closer to $4k/month. After the initial hearing, it was deemed that my 33% drop in earnings wasn't 'significant' and they put me into probate for collections. After taking 50% of my after tax earnings and giving to my ex, it equated to about $4k/month.

I returned to court about 2 years ago as I had remarried and had a baby. I still make about $150-$160k/year and I thought this 'change in circumstances', both the fact that even taking the maximum allowed by the Federal government from my pay (50% under normal circumstances) and the new child, might justify a modification in the terms. Instead the judge continued the $6k/month and added $500/month to start gathering the 'arrears' that had been accumulated.