Giving Notice Money taken from me for the next month

Khankhankhan

Jurisdiction
Kansas
I am an international student living in Kansas. I was living in an apartment which had its lease till the 31st of Jan. I was sent regular emails to extend my lease but since I was planning to move out I didn't sign the extension. Now I'm new to the US and I had no idea that I had to let the renter know 30 days prior of moving out. I moved out before the 31st and after 2 days received a notification that the rent of February was being taken from me as well. I contacted the leasing agent and they said there's nothing they can do. If only I had received any email or message suggesting me to give a notice prior leaving from them I would have done it. I am a student and giving out the rent of 2 places in a month is really tough for me. Is there anything I can do?

I am an international student living in Kansas. I was living in an apartment which had its lease till the 31st of Jan. I was sent regular emails to extend my lease but since I was planning to move out I didn't sign the extension. Now I'm new to the US and I had no idea that I had to let the renter know 30 days prior of moving out. I moved out before the 31st and after 2 days received a notification that the rent of February was being taken from me as well. I contacted the leasing agent and they said there's nothing they can do. If only I had received any email or message suggesting me to give a notice prior leaving from them I would have done it. I am a student and giving out the rent of 2 places in a month is really tough for me. Is there anything I can do?
Perhaps the former landlord will be willing to accept installment payments to let you pay the amount due over a period of time...

As I'm fairly sure that your lease states what is required for you to do when not renewing your lease, I highly doubt there is anything you can do.