LLC formation question

A

AMRI

I am looking to potentially form an LLC to put my property into as we will be renting it out. Of course, an LLC is safer than renting out property in my name and has some additional benefits such as tax write-offs for any improvements/repairs needed. However, as a military member my current property is in California, yet I am an Illinois resident. My next duty station is in Boston...if I make an LLC can I make one in Illinois to put all the property I acquire under it, regardless of the states I move to and acquire property in? Or would I need to form an LLC in each state the properties are located at? If so, how does that work when I am an Illinois resident with no physical address in the states where I have property? Is an LLC necessary?

Is an LLC necessary?

I'll answer that first with a resounding "NO" an LLC is not necessary. I owned 3 rentals for 20 years and never had an LLC. Never had a problem.

Of course, an LLC is safer than renting out property in my name and has some additional benefits such as tax write-offs for any improvements/repairs needed.

Can't imagine where you got that idea. It's 100% wrong. As an individual you get the same tax write-offs for improvements, repairs, depreciation and expenses.

Take a look at IRS Schedule E and you'll see what I mean.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040se.pdf

Here's a couple of IRS publications that will seriously contribute to your education:

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p527.pdf

You should also be studying the CA landlord tenant guide and statutes:

CA Codes (civ:1940-1954.1)

http://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook/catenant.pdf

As for personal liability you can add landlord's liability coverage in increments of a million to your property insurance. Once you start renting out your home you will have to replace your homeowners policy with a landlord's policy. Your insurance agent can handle that.