Other Criminal Procedure License plate check - fictional scenario

Status
Not open for further replies.

investigationWr

I'm a writer, trying to understand laws regarding license plate checks... specifically I'm interested in the laws in texas.

Here's the scenario: my protagonist discovers she's being followed by a car (happens to be a private investigator, the protagonist doesn't know this yet)... she notes down the license plate number. She gives the license plate number to the police.

Now can the police release any information to the protagonist regarding the identity of the driver? can the police reveal to the protagonist that the driver is a private investigator?

Basically I'm trying to create a scenario in the story, where my protagonist, using the license plate number, is able to determine that the person following her is a private investigator...

Appreciate any help.

I'm a writer, trying to understand laws regarding license plate checks... specifically I'm interested in the laws in texas.

Here's the scenario: my protagonist discovers she's being followed by a car (happens to be a private investigator, the protagonist doesn't know this yet)... she notes down the license plate number. She gives the license plate number to the police.

Now can the police release any information to the protagonist regarding the identity of the driver? can the police reveal to the protagonist that the driver is a private investigator?

Basically I'm trying to create a scenario in the story, where my protagonist, using the license plate number, is able to determine that the person following her is a private investigator...

Appreciate any help.

My goodness, Mr Writer or Ms Writer, these days ANYONE can run their own license plate check.

There are many services that will provide you with the the details behind those license plate numbers.