Leaving Job Before 12mo Commitment

A

anon247

Jurisdiction
Florida
I have been working at my job for 6 months. I signed a compensation/offer letter when I joined the company that includes a sentence: "12 month minimum working requirement"

The job has turned out to be a nightmare and I have another job opportunity. I am afraid that if I quit they will attempt to sue me for the 6 months of pay that I have earned. They have sued employees in the past for other reasons and I feel they are sue happy. There is nothing else in the letter stating what they would do if I didnt stay for 12 months. Is it safe to leave? Or should I 'get fired' before leaving so they break the contract?

Well, we can't read the "contract" from here so worst case scenario, if it is a bona fide employment contract, apparently with a specific duration in exchange for compensation, then you would be in breach if you quit. That the job is a nightmare is not good cause to quit unless whatever is happening already constitutes the employer breaching the contract.

As for getting fired, you could still be in breach if you intentionally do something, or not do something, that results in getting fired.

Tread carefully here because a lawsuit could cost you a great deal of money to defend and make you unemployable.

I suggest you take the contract to an labor law attorney and review your options.

You might just have to stick it out for another 6 months.

You won't be the first person (and you won't be the last) that had to contend with a job that sucks.

If it is a compensation/offer letter, they generally do not rise to the level of a binding employment contract. However, I agree that you should take whatever you have to an employment or contract attorney for review & advice.

I don't suggest getting fired. That might backfire.

One of the key elements of a binding employment contract is that it be for a specific length of time. That agreement seems to have that element.