Law Enforcement Injury/Retirement

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stodelle

I am an 8 year veteran of a Southern California Sheriff's Department. In May of 2000, I was injured in an altercation with a suspect. During this altercation, I ruptured the disk at L5/S1. My first surgery was done in September of 2001 which did not work. I had to go in for a 2nd surgery in February of 2002. this 2nd surgery involved the addition of titanium screws and a fusion of the vertebraes. It will be August of 2002 before we even know if the bone is growing properly.

I am currently on paid medical leave for the injury. My paid leave ends in August and I have already been told by the county that I am too much of a liability and can not return. I have been sent a retirement package to fill out and start the retirement process which takes anywhere from 5-8 months. The county is also bound by state law to pay for job retraining for me.

First question...Is it possible to sue the county (outside of workers comp) as I am obviously permanently disabled as a result of my employment? I am still young (just turned 30) and now walk, live and move like a 60 year old man.

Since I have a workers comp attorney, should I seek out a personal injury or retirement attorney as well?