Landlord Lease Broken

Raylene J

Jurisdiction
California
Good afternoon, I am currently a full time student and work full time. As of May 18th 2019 moved out my school dorm because I will not continue to live on campus due to the increasing rent. On May 1,2019 I contacted this guy who had a room for rent . He had 1 room at $550 and the bigger room at $700. On his ad he stated that everything will have utilities included. The guy contacted me the same day for me to call him so he can get to know me a little before letting me view these two rooms. Everything went will and I was able to view his rooms. When I arrived I told him he I am interested in getting the room for $550 and he stated if I take the bigger room he will not rent the other room to know one and that he is not trying to rent the smaller room. So we calculated everything I gave him my statements , I.d and any other info he would needed to make his mind. I agreed I'm okay with renting out the room but I will need to make two separate payment for thehe deposits and which he viewed all documents and said he will contact me. A week later or so , he contacted stating that if I can come by again. And that he will have the rental agreement ready for me the next time I come. I made it to his home and we went over everything again, he viewed. I explained to him again about the two different payments for the deposit due to some other issues. He agreed and wrote the info on the rental agreement and I was able to sign the agreement after that. When I was finished signing he told me that he rented the smaller room outs that was odd but I said Okay. The same day hours later he called me and said he do not think it went well and believe I did not have my payment in order so he will see if me and the other tenet can switch rooms and will call me in the morning. I wanted the smaller one in the beginning. I'm addition I just said okay I have no other choice it's approx. 2 days before I have to move out my dorm. The next