Just found warrant from 12 yrs ago

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelley8471

I recently did a background ck for a job and found out that I have a warrant issued from 12/21/95. I finally found a court that could find it, (took 4 courts) I have put it on the docket for Monday Oct 15. The thing is it is for forgery, I worked for a company back in 95 and it seems that some of the payroll checks went missing. I cashed my payroll ck in my married name which it was made out to and thought nothing of it as I had worked for it. I find out now that a warrant was issued under my maiden name which I had not used for at least four years and says I forged my married name to this check. I have never even so much as had a parking ticket so needless to say I am fairly new at this and dont have any idea on what to expect. The court clerk said I am scheduled for an araingment on monday. Does this mean they will arrest me that day? Or will they take into consideration that I didn't know about this and as soon as I found out I am the one bringing it up (sure its 12 years old but I never knew about it) will they take my previous (spotless) record into consideration? I called the public defender and they said that they don't represent me as they represented my co-defendant.....I didn't know I had one. I cannot afford to hire an attorney as I am not working at this time (the background ck was for a new job) I did find out it is a $7500 warrant and they said it was a misdemeanor. Am I looking at going to jail? Or will the courts work with me on this? I dont know the process and can't seem to stop worrying about this. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

The public defender will have to get another public defender from a different area.

They are called "conflicts" public defender.

If you are eligible for a public defender, then one will have to be appointed for you.

Are you saying that your co-defendant from 12 years ago was represented by the public defender?