Jaywalking Ticket on Intersection Crosswalk

Status
Not open for further replies.

finoj05

I am a student living in Los Angeles, CA attending school here. I walk everywhere i go to avoid gas prices, parking tickets as well as the high parking fees in the city.

Los Angeles has a system where the walk sign is on and then after that, a counter occurs from anywhere between 20 to 5 seconds with a flashing red hand signal till finally, at the end, the hand signal is solid.

I was at an intersection crossing Sunset Blv. (which is 7 lanes across) and a smaller street. The walk sign lasts for 5 seconds and the flashing hand lasts for 15 seconds before a solid hand appears.

I got to the corner, ready to cross just as the 5 second walk sign was up and the 15 seconds began. The small street i was cross linear with had cars trying to turn over the sidewalk, which is legal since they are allowed to take the turns at that time. Thus, i was being caution and stopped a couple times in fear of getting hit. Right before the last lane, a car went in front of me turning right (going my left) onto Sunset.

Thinking the guy behind him saw me and was going to let me pass (since neither of us had a right over the other, thus its turn by turn basis), i walked further. The car started going, so i jogged onto the sidewalk to avoid any trouble. I got onto the sidewalk a second or two after the hand signal became solid and right before Sunset was given its green light.

A police officer, driving off of the side street slightly behind the car i cut in front of, took the right turn onto sunset and yelled for me to stop. He parked his car in the rightest lane and came out and immediatly asked for identification. Not knowing what the problem was, i agreed and handed it to him.