Is this discrimination?

M

MDFINLEY

Jurisdiction
Illinois
I was a contractor working for a large tech company Data Center in Illinois. I was on the job for 4 months, and was not made aware of any slow-down in work or production. Today, I was informed by my recruiter that 3 of us contractors were being laid off. The reason cited was a reduction in business need. My recruiter repeated over and over that I was re-hireable, and that my lay-off was not performance or complaint related.

Since I knew who the other contractors are, I asked my recruiter who else got laid off. He gave me the names of 3 of us, but left out a 4th contractor that had just been hired a week ago. The 3 of us are all Black, and the 4th contractor is Pakistani.

I was told by my contractor that the decision was based on a last -in/ first out policy, based on a reduction in work and business need. My recruiter noted that he had never heard of a Data Center having a slow-down of that sort, and I also noted that when I left last Friday, we were actually backed up on work orders.

If that is so, and if we 3 contractors had no performance based issues, then why were we let go, while the contractor who has only been there a week, kept his job?

Because of this action, there are now no Black employees with my former team (a team of twenty five, including one supervisor who is black).

Is this discrimination?

Thanks

Hard to tell.

Layoff 3 and keep 1. Could be economic.

Layoff 3 members of an ethnic minority and keep 1 member of an ethnic minority. Anybody's guess.

File with the EEOC and see how far you get.

Meantime file for unemployment if you are eligible.

Let's put it this way.

It is by no means clear cut discrimination. Being a member of a so-called protected class doesn't mean you can't be laid off; it means you can't be selected for lay off because of that class.