Is this an international child support enforcement case

beltawell

Jurisdiction
Michigan
I got divorce in China and a Chinese court entered the child support order. The child father has been living in USA many years. Last year my kid and I relocated to USA and we have lived here ever since. I'm studying here in a university.

I applied for modification of support here and the court sent my request to the state the farther is living, but that state denied it due to lack of jurisdiction. The court said since China is not one of the Hague child support convention countries and foreign reciprocating countries, they can't help me anymore. They suggest me ask help from an attorney.

As I know Hague Convention involves a foreign country of residence of either parent or child. But my kid, the father and I are all residents of USA. So I guess this is not an international child support enforcement case. Could you help me? Thank you so much.

I got divorce in China and a Chinese court entered the child support order. The child father has been living in USA many years. Last year my kid and I relocated to USA and we have lived here ever since. I'm studying here in a university.

I applied for modification of support here and the court sent my request to the state the farther is living, but that state denied it due to lack of jurisdiction. The court said since China is not one of the Hague child support convention countries and foreign reciprocating countries, they can't help me anymore. They suggest me ask help from an attorney.

As I know Hague Convention involves a foreign country of residence of either parent or child. But my kid, the father and I are all residents of USA. So I guess this is not an international child support enforcement case. Could you help me? Thank you so much.

As you were told - you need an attorney.

I will tag some of the attorney's that volunteer here :

@army judge @Tax Counsel @Michael Wechsler

Yeah you need a lawyer who specializes in this.