Is it legal to create and sell original artwork that is named after the title of a song?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adelia87

Jurisdiction
Europe
Hello,

I'm an artist who's thinking about selling my art. I take inspiration from music and my paintings depict my own interpretation of a song (the meaning of the song, and/or the feelings it gives me, which is then visually transfered onto the canvas). Because of this, I like to name my paintings after the title of the song I was inspired by (or a short phrase from the lyrics that fits the visuals). I would also like to mention which band/artist the song belongs to.

For example:
Name of painting: "Purple rain" (or a short phrase from the lyrics: "I never meant to cause you any pain")
And: "Inspired by the song "Purple rain" by "Prince"

Would this be legal or do I need permission from the band/artist who owns the copyright to the song?

Last edited:
It would likely be infringement if you did it without consent. Especially selling the results.

If you want to do that, do it with songs that are in the public domain.

Since January 1 2022, music published in 1926 and earlier is in the public domain.

There are probably thousands of songs and melodies from which you can get inspiration without risking a lawsuit.

It would likely be infringement if you did it without consent. Especially selling the results.

If you want to do that, do it with songs that are in the public domain.

Since January 1 2022, music published in 1926 and earlier is in the public domain.

There are probably thousands of songs and melodies from which you can get inspiration without risking a lawsuit.

Thank you for answering. Would you mind clarifying which specific part would be infringement, please? Naming the painting after a song title, or mentioning which song/band inspired me? Or both? And why? From what I've heard, song titles can not be copyrighted, isn't that right?