Invention vs. Works Made for Hire

Hotwheels

Jurisdiction
Florida
Currently a few years into employment with a very large company performing a job that I love. For background, I have 20+ years experience in the same industry, so I'm not new to the general functions or needs of the business type itself.

In short, I've developed two ideas/inventions; one of which has the potential to be a game changer for a major sector of the company's business. I came up with these ideas on my own, not at the request of the company, though they do obviously relate to my job, which I have great enthusiasm for.

Recently, we were issued our annual code of conduct, which we all must sign by a certain deadline. Within the manual is the following statement: "Any idea, invention, discovery, development, concept, or process related to our business that you develop by yourself or with others while you work here belongs to (company). If something you develop is later copyrighted, it is called a "work for hire" and (company) is considered the author."

Do I understand correctly that this means my inventions if brought to fruition will belong to the company? Or does work for hire strictly pertain to things requested by the company itself for an employee to design, such as in the case of a graphic designer being paid by the company to create a poster or something of that nature?

Do I understand correctly that this means my inventions if brought to fruition will belong to the company?

That's exactly what your employer is saying.

And if you continue to work there after reading that you may be construed as to having agreed to it and it would cost you a fortune once they sued you for a piece of your pie.

Get yourself to an intellectual property attorney right now, before you reveal your inventions to anybody. And I do mean anybody because anybody you tell, except a lawyer, will be called as a witness against you.