I had to quit. Do I have a case?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lilla

Hello, I would really appreciate any advice on this issue I have at work.
I currently work for a well-known company -actually I worked for them until today. I resigned today because the District Manager wouldn't help with my transfer request.

Basically my current boss has been asking me out probably ever since I started working, but he always said it jokingly; matter of fact he says everything jokingly so most of the time ppl can't really tell whether he is serious or not; He has a lot of sex jokes that make me feel very uncomfortable, but everybody else usually laugh at them. I'm the one that's "too serious" according to all my coworkers but really, I've never worked with somebody like this before. However, about a month ago, he definitely went too far with me.

He followed me to my car and as I got inside, he jumped in on the passenger side and startled me. I was really in shock, so I finally told him yes we can go out to a restaurant but it had to be right at the moment; he wasn't ready so he asked me to text him my address later that night. I did agree, so that he could get off my car. To my huge surprise, about an hour and a half after, he texted me with an interrogation mark (?), he was waiting for me to send my address. I realized this guy was REALLY serious. I didn't sleep that night and that was the turning point for me. The next day I told him not to text me anymore otherwise I will call HR on him. And I said that in front of everybody because they KNOW what is going on. He got mad and told me he was joking with me- (I didn't buy it of course). I was in an abusive relationship before and feel like I have to defend myself now if I feel threatened like that, so I guess people may feel like I overreacted. This happened over a month ago. Since then we don't talk to each other at work and the situation is very tense. I just can't stand him anymore.