Personal Bankruptcy I am IndCntrtr on Retainer Agrmnt, Client pays me late, worry they decl BKUP, advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevewa

Hi, I am an independant contractor with a signed retainer agreement for computer maintenance services for a client. The aggreement has been in effect for over 12 months now, and everything has been going well, but now they are 2 months late in paying me, and I am afraid they will be declaring backruptcy. They are not paying any of their vendors due to cash flow problems. I need this money to continue my business as they are my biggest client.

The agreement did not have any clause about suspending services if their payment is late, but it does have a clause about charging a late fee, but they may never pay the intial amount, much less a late fee. I have never charged them a latefee before, even though some months they have been behind 15-20 days.

The agreement does state that it can be cancelled by either party with 30 days written notice, to allow both parties ample time to find a replacement.

I do not send monthly invoices for payment because since the beginning the checks would come every month pretty close to the due date.

I am worried that if they do declare bancruptcy, I will not be listed as a creditor because I do not send monthly invoices, even though I have a signed retainer agreement.

I would appreciate advice on what kind of documentation I should write, to ensure I have the best chance of collection my payments. This is not a secured debt, i.e. I don't have any liens or collateral being held to guarantee my payment. However I do have access to the bldg, computer systems, and email servers, so I would think it would be in their best interest to pay me on time. I do not plan on doing anything bad in order to collect my money, but I'd like advice on what is considered legal and fair.

Should I:
1. Deliver a letter reminding them about the past due amount?