I - 9 question

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlesc

how much should i charge my new employer for filling out an I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification?

i'm not a U.S. citizen, but i am a citizen of the republic of texas, now.

a state citizen and a U.S. citizen is not SYNONYMOUS.

"We have in our political system a government of the United States and a government of each of the several States. Each one of these governments is distinct from the others, and each has citizens of it's own..."
United States v. Cruikshank, 92 U.S. 542 (1875)

"...he was not a citizen of the United States, he was a citizen and voter of the State,..." "One may be a citizen of a State an yet not a citizen of the United States".
McDonel v. The State, 90 Ind. 320 (1883)

i'm thinking $500 u.s. dollars for the employers request for their affirmative defense?

i'm not a lawyer, yet.

i have been offered a job, so if they refuse to continue to employ me, i plan to sue in small claims court for breach of promise and money damages.

what do you all, think?

FYI, what the government cant do directly it cant do by proxy (the Employer), Go Figure

Last edited:
Why exactly do you think you can charge the company for filling out a legally-required document?

What exactly are you trying to accomplish here?

It is required by law that all employees, regardless of their citizenship, complete an I-9 form. It doesn't matter what you consider your citizenship to be; it doesn't matter where you were born, in what country, state, or jurisdiction. Texas, Montana, Rhode Island, France, Turkey, Iran, Papua New Guinea, it's all the same. In order to be employed, you complete an I-9. Your employer is prohibited by law from employing you if you refuse.