Help I'm pretty sure my former landlord did some unethical things

SUNYMarisa2017

Jurisdiction
New York
I live in upstate New York.I live in a multi family apartment. I have a month to month lease. I paid first and last and moved in the middle of February 2017. Landlord approved me moving in a girl as my co- tenant. She never paid her rent, but she paid the electric. I told landlord I needed help evicting her since she won't pay rent. He refused to get involved.Because i am a full time student at the time in addition to working to cover the rent on a two- bedroom by myself was too much.I
told him I had to put my 2 month notice, I told the landlord that 2 months from the date would by June 18th and that was the earliest that I can be out, and I would let him that if not the 18th the latest could be end of June and I would let him know as date approaches closer.