Grandparents and baby's father won't let the baby's mom see her...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdsnurse

My niece gave birth 2 months ago. She's 19 and her boyfriend is 20. They live with friends and at their young age, are not financially set for a new baby. Since birth my niece has been battling severe depression. Tried Zoloft but it made things worse. Can't afford to go to the doctor again. She has continued to request to see her daughter but the baby's dad refuses...says he's tired ect. She wants to have her daughter and see if she's got what it takes to be a parent. They fight and argue like every young couple under stress. The boyfriend is scared to stand up to his family. They will not allow her to bring her baby for a 2 week visit with me. They have had the baby approx 6 weeks. I live 2 hours away and I am a nurse. They have met me. What rights does my niece have?? I'm ready to drive there and help her get her daughter for a visit but the grandparents say no and the baby's father is saying no........what can she do??

Has a court given custody or guardianship to the father and/or his family?