Got a notice to vacate

dictum

Jurisdiction
Virginia
I have been staying in my mother's house for the last 2 years, occasionally helping out with various bills (electric, etc.) but no consistent payments or any lease or any written document. It has been a family house and I stayed there as a family member. I worked out of town on a job site about 3 days per week and stayed in her residence for about 4 days per week, constantly coming and going.

My son has also lived here for the last 2 years although in the last year he has been full time in a boarding school, very rarely coming here. (summer and Christmas vacation).

Now I got this eviction letter, handed to a neighbor to me by hand, not sent via mail but in an envelope with no postage. I think they put it in his mailbox intentionally so he hand-delivers it to me.

RE: NOTICE TO VACATE
Dear Mr. Dictum

You are hereby notified that you have until Saturday, September 3, 2022 at 12:00 Noon, to vacate our home at *** **** ****, Virginia. Please take all of you (sic) belongings with you when you leave.

After September 3rd, 2022, your presence in our home at xxxx xxx xxx, will be trespassing. Should you fail to vacate by September 3rd, 2022, we will take all appropriate legal action to remove you from our home.

__________xxxxxx xxxxxxxx_________________

_________ xxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx ________________

Both my mother and her husband are on the house deed, they are equal co-owners as far as I understand and I will get no inheritance whatsoever as a footnote.

I am planning to leave but it was my understanding they need a court order or at least a 30-day notice. I am actively looking for a place to move, packing but it may be hard to meet the 1 week deadline I got.

I am planning to leave but it was my understanding they need a court order or at least a 30-day notice.

Unfortunately, you don't fall under the VA landlord tenant statute which defines tenant as