Friend had me use my Paypal account to receive $, and then never sent the purchase.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonicaP

Hi, I need help and advice to find out if I can bring a civil lawsuit (not small claims) against someone who recently stole money from me. I live in Colorado.
Brief Background: (Hopefully I can avoid any judgment as to why I made the decision I clearly regret and just stick to the crime that was committed, thanks).

One of my good friends from childhood lost his high-paying job last year. At the same time, his fiancée and him were going through a custody battle. My father had just died and I came into a small lump of life insurance money. I saved most of it, and decided to use about $3,000 to help him find a new apartment and furnish his daughters' bedroom. He paid me back $500 of it a few months later and still owed me the $2,500. (this is not what I am writing about.)

We haven't talked much since last summer; I graduated and have been working a lot at my first 'real' job. About a month ago, he texted me and asked me to help him. He was trying to sell airline miles (he had tons, he used to travel for work) so he could pay his rent. He wanted to use my Paypal account so he could get the money immediately (I am an amateur eBay seller and have an eBay debit card so I can immediately pull out funds, which he knew). I told him I wasn't interested, and he agreed that he would use $500 of the money to start paying me back for the $2,500 he still owes me. I told him I would help him only if he signed a Promissory Note for the remaining $2,000, which he did.

The mileage broker in another state that my friend had met on Craigslist deposited $2,300 into my Paypal account, and pulled out the $1,800 and gave it to my friend. One week later, the broker emailed me and asked for all of his money back. He said that my friend had logged in to the account and changed the password and then sold the miles again to someone else.